» 常见问题

什么住宿选项可用圣卡塔利娜?

圣卡塔利娜提供 不同的住宿 从宿舍和基本的小屋到套房,配有空调和整个海滨出租房屋. 宿舍和小木屋与球迷和共用浴室可低至 $10.00 (美元) 同时配有空调和热水开始在各地 $35.00 (美元) 去了过度 $100.00 (美元).

我们建议的酒店 圣卡塔利娜酒店, 从水肺科伊瓦岛位于只有几分钟的路程, 与利率开始的 $45.00 (美元) 与热水的私人房间, 空调和私人阳台或露台.

都在村里有许多餐馆?

圣卡塔利娜提供近三场所,人们可以在当地的特色美食, 新鲜捕获的鱼类, 比萨, 玉米饼, 面食多.

什么SHOPPING可以做到圣卡塔利娜?

我们村提供了两个小商店,出售基本食品. Santa Catalina does not offer a big supermarket, 所以停在SONA或圣地亚哥的道路上,任何特定的项目,你可能希望把, 如酒, 防晒, 杀虫剂, 沙滩巾, 香烟, 等等.

有加油站圣卡塔利娜?

有没有加油站位于圣卡塔利娜. 最近的经营加油站位于SONA, 所以确保你有足够的燃料,你的坦克驾驶 70 公里 (43 英里) 以SONA.

你能告诉我关于互联网和移动电话服务在圣卡塔利娜?

手机服务是在这里,但互联网服务往往是缓慢的通过手机供应商. Most hotels offer (slow) WiFi

有没有银行或自动取款机在圣卡塔利娜?

有一个在我们村里没有银行或自动柜员机. 最近的ATM在SONA这是一个1.5小时的车程. VISA和万事达通过潜水科伊瓦岛和一​​些更昂贵的酒店被接受, 然而,大多数的酒店, 餐馆和旅游运营商不接受信用卡,没有人接受旅行支票或者外币.

有什么具体我们应该期待在圣卡塔利娜?

和周围圣卡塔利娜你会发现很多沙滩, 中美洲的最佳surfbreaks和世界级的潜水地点之一. 你还会发现房间和食物, 商店满足在友好村的基本需求和友好的人民仍然受到广大游客的未受污染. 你不会找到任何夜生活, 购物场所, 银行, 5-星级酒店, 等等.

疟疾目前在圣卡塔利娜?

没有! 疟疾是不是在这部分巴拿马的一个问题.

我们需要一个4x4的车辆达到圣卡塔利娜?

没有, 作为街道现在已经铺好的SONA之旅圣卡塔利娜的整个持续时间.

是否有商业航班INTO SANTIAGO, SONA, 圣卡塔利娜OR科伊瓦岛?

虽然在圣地亚哥机场和科伊瓦岛​​岛降落跑道, 目前有没有商业航班到城市或岛屿. 无论圣卡塔利娜也不SONA有一个机场或降落跑道. 联系 我的飞行公司 差饷的私人航空运输到圣地亚哥或科伊瓦岛岛.

什么是船艇及船码头LIKE喜欢圣卡塔利娜?

典型的船在巴拿马太平洋沿岸醒发的可靠性被称为玻璃钢船艇 银行, fast, 舷外发动机动力船. 我们的船被定制设计成既容易从潜水和舒适, 到来装有屋顶, 软垫长椅和坦克架. 无论是在圣卡塔利娜, 也不科伊瓦岛国家公园,你会发现船码头, 让您的入口和出口的船只由海滩.

我可以拍摄照片和视频科伊瓦岛国家公园?

摄影与录像供私人使用是免费的科伊瓦岛国家公园收费, 然而,专业和商业的拍摄确实需要许可证. 许可证应至少14天之前,你的计划逗留适用. 你也应该,如果你正在使用的设备,可以很容易地定性为申请许可证 非常具有专业外观的. 我们很乐意帮助您获得许可证, 以及.

哪些调整中提供了科伊瓦岛?

在科伊瓦岛国家公园的唯一可用的住宿是在亚南护林站. 他们提供了一些温和的两舱宿舍配有空调. 每个基本宿舍睡觉 4-6 人,并拥有一间私人浴室. 住宿是基本, 虽然房间是有空调. (*注意: 电力和空调被亚南护林员,只要他们的发电机充分发挥作用提供。)

多久转会次科伊瓦岛国家公园?

根据天气情况, 它需要大约1小时15分钟到达科伊瓦岛.

天气怎么样圣卡塔利娜?

你会发现这里的天气是热带,常年温暖. 我们的旱季从11月/ 12月至四月/五月. 二月至四月往往是多风,干燥. 雨季从五月至十月, 最降雨发生通常是在九月和十月. 从五月至八月,它通常只在下雨以后的下午和晚上.

CAN你描述跳水旱季期间更深入?

在干燥的季节,十二月和一月知名度的开始可以是最好,有时达到 30 米或更大 (100 以上双脚). 电流会在每年的这个时候是非常强的. 在二月份/中结束,直到1980年4月月/中月底开始连续北风带来非常干燥的天气,但可以影响表面的条件和可能会限制访问远程潜水地点在公海. The upwelling caused by the north wind and the influence of Pacific currents bring lots of nutrients and with it big schools of migrating pelagic fish like whale sharks, manta rays, 巨型远洋黄貂鱼, 金枪鱼, 琥珀千斤顶, 逆戟鲸多. 但是,这些条件也带来了跃层 19-20 ºC (66-68 ºF) 达到深度达的 25-30 米 (80-100 脚). 而能见度在表面,也倒在冷水优异, 微绿水的两层之间的层开始于间 5-15 米 (15-50 脚) 根据潜水点和潮汐能降低能见度.

CAN你描述跳水雨季更深入?

在雨季风停止,水镇定, 而温跃层更深. 直到七月和八月的知名度之间的范围 12-20 米 (40-65 脚) 下降到休闲的深度极限,水的温度降不低于 24-26 ºC (75-78 ºF) 一路下来. 雷暴和暴雨,应有望在黄昏. 座头鲸从七月访问该地区,以十月. 九月和十月是最潮湿的月份和风可以使表面波涛汹涌. 在河流的大量的新鲜水可以降低能见度特别是在站点靠近大陆或在科伊瓦岛岛大的河流和降低表面温度,以 25 ºC (76 ºF). 跳水依然出色每年的这个时候, 但由于刮风下雨,建议采取多天的行程考虑在那里你可以留在上科伊瓦岛岛和体验潜水的护林站了很多内的潜水地点 15 分钟船程. 这样你会避免每天乘船往返圣卡塔利娜.

什么是水温像科伊瓦岛国家公园?

水的温度通常为周围 27-29 ºC (81-84 ºF). 有时, 通常从二月到四月, 你可以期望与冷却器的水一直延伸到20多岁的较低温跃层ºC (68 ºF). 看到我们的潜水地点的描述为典型的水温在特定地点的详细信息.

什么是水下能见度像科伊瓦岛国家公园?

能见度通常好才是真的好, 间 10-15 米 (30-50 脚) 在圣卡塔利娜之间 15-20 米 (50-70 脚) 在科伊瓦岛但可受电流, 温跃层和潮汐. 尤其是在圣卡塔利娜的知名度可以通过水的运动可以减少 (膨胀) 和雨水径流,而科伊瓦岛是因为位置偏远的影响较小. 二月至四月的稳步北部风是造成涌, 这使冷, 有时阴暗的水可达, 但也吸引了不少远洋和大鱼. 我们能不能​​保证每次潜水完美的知名度. 看到我们的潜水地点的描述对在特定地点典型的知名度更多详细信息.

我们需要潜水衣FOR OUR潜水科伊瓦岛国家公园?

从二月到四月,强烈建议使用 3 至 5 毫米潜水衣, 因为热的气候和 (有时候小气) 浮游生物. 在今年余下时间,我们建议至少使用一个薄矮子. 我们提供潜水衣出租,如果您不想带上自己.

我们应该期待看到水下科伊瓦岛国家公园?

也许更合适的问题是 是什么将我们科伊瓦岛国家公园不看! 大体, 时间为大鱼 (鲸鲨, Mantas公司, 大的中上层鱼类) 为十二月至四月间, 当水冷却器和丰富的浮游生物. 六月至九月有一个很好的可能性,看到驼背鲸. 但是,有很多海洋生物 12 一年中月.

什么是潮交换像科伊瓦岛国家公园和圣卡塔利娜?

潮交流 2-5 米 (6-15 脚) 是目前在巴拿马这一领域,并导致在某些时候的电流在几个地方, 这可能会影响跳水科伊瓦岛以及周围的圣卡塔利娜. 根据潮汐海流能强, 月相和潜水点. 一些最好的潜水地点经常刮起电流, 因此,你不应该接受 “游泳池” 在每次潜水条件.

给我们介绍一下鲨鱼!

如果你正在浏览互联网寻找有关科伊瓦岛和海洋生物的信息,你会发现很多关于大鲨鱼的故事, 巨型鲨鱼和鲨鱼的学校. 它是一个事实,即 33 鲨鱼物种被发现,包括锤头, 公牛, 虎鲸鲨. 但是,这也是一个事实,即他们是不是定期或共同瞄准. 常年什么几乎所有的潜水过程中,你会看到很多的白鳍礁鲨, 以及鲷大学校, 千斤顶, 呼噜声, 梭鱼, 蝙蝠鱼, 五颜六色的珊瑚礁鱼类,如神仙鱼, 蝴蝶鱼, 鲟, 触发和鹦嘴鱼, 以及各种海鳗和珍稀物种,如琵琶鱼和海马. 在一年中的某些时候,你会看到小蝠鲼大学校 (mobulas) 和其他学校教育射线像远洋黄貂鱼, 老鹰射线或cownose射线. 有看到海龟,也是巨大的Mantas公司的一个公平的机会, 鲸鲨和大鲨鱼不时在某些潜水点, 但不要指望被数百双髻鲨在每次潜水包围.

Home » FAQ

WHAT LODGING OPTIONS ARE AVAILABLE IN SANTA CATALINA?

Santa Catalina offers a variety of accommodations ranging from dorm rooms and basic cabins to suites with air conditioning and entire beach-front rental homes. Dorm rooms and cabins with fans and a shared bathroom are available for as low as $10.00 (USD) while rooms with air conditioning and hot water begin at around $35.00 (USD) and go up to over $100.00 (USD).

Our suggested hotel is Santa Catalina Inn, located just minutes away from Scuba Coiba, with rates beginning at $45.00 (USD) for private rooms with hot water, air conditioning and private balconies or patios.

ARE THERE MANY RESTAURANTS IN THE VILLAGE?

Santa Catalina offers nearly thirty establishments where one can dine on local specialties, fresh-caught fish, pizza, tacos, pasta and more.

WHAT SHOPPING CAN BE DONE IN SANTA CATALINA?

Our village offers two small stores which sell basic food items. Santa Catalina does not offer a big supermarket, so stop in Soná or Santiago on the way for any specific items you may want to bring, such as liquor, sunscreen, bug spray, beach towels, cigarettes, etc.

IS THERE A GAS STATION IN SANTA CATALINA?

There is no gas station located in Santa Catalina. The nearest operating gas station is located in Soná, so do ensure that you have enough fuel in your tank to drive the 70 kilometers (43 miles) to Soná.

WHAT CAN YOU TELL ME ABOUT INTERNET AND CELLULAR SERVICE IN SANTA CATALINA?

Cell service is available here but internet service tends to be slow via cell phone providers. Most hotels offer (slow) WiFi

IS THERE A BANK OR ATM IN SANTA CATALINA?

There is no bank or ATM in our village. The closest ATM is in Soná which is a 1.5-hour drive away. VISA and Mastercard ARE accepted by Scuba Coiba and by some more expensive hotels, however most hotels, restaurants and tour operators DO NOT accept credit cards and no one accepts traveler checks or foreign currency.

IS THERE ANYTHING IN SPECIFIC WE SHOULD EXPECT IN SANTA CATALINA?

In and around Santa Catalina you will find a lot of sandy beaches, one of the best surfbreaks of Central America and world-class dive sites. You will also find rooms and food, shops satisfying your basic needs and friendly people in a friendly village still unspoiled by masses of tourists. You will not find any nightlife, shopping possibilities, banks, 5-star hotels, etc.

IS MALARIA PRESENT IN SANTA CATALINA?

No! Malaria is not a problem in this part of Panama.

DO WE NEED A 4X4 VEHICLE TO REACH SANTA CATALINA?

No, as the streets have now been paved the entire duration of the trip from Soná to Santa Catalina.

ARE THERE COMMERCIAL FLIGHTS INTO SANTIAGO, SONÁ, SANTA CATALINA OR COIBA?

Although there is an airport in Santiago and a landing strip on Coiba Island, there are presently no commercial flights into the city or the island. Neither Santa Catalina nor Soná have an airport or landing strip. Contact My Flight Corp for rates on private air transport into Santiago or Coiba Island.

WHAT ARE THE BOATS AND BOAT DOCKS LIKE LIKE IN SANTA CATALINA?

The typical boat with proofed reliability on the Pacific coast of Panama are fiberglass boats called pangas or lanchas, fast, outboard-engine powered boats. Our boats were custom designed to be both easy to dive from and comfortable, coming equipped with a roof, cushioned benches and tank racks. Neither in Santa Catalina, nor in Coiba National Park will you find boat docks, making your entrance and exit from boats by beach.

CAN I SHOOT PHOTOS AND VIDEOS IN COIBA NATIONAL PARK?

Photography and videography for private use is free of fees in Coiba National Park, however professional and commercial filming does require a permit. Permits should be applied for at least fourteen days prior to your planned stay. You should also apply for a permit if you are using equipment that could be easily characterized as very professional-looking. We will gladly assist you in obtaining a permit, as well.

WHAT ACCOMMODATIONS ARE AVAILABLE IN COIBA?

The only accommodations available in Coiba National Park is at the ANAM ranger station. They offer several modest two-dormitory cabins with air conditioning. Each basic dormitory sleeps 4-6 people and has a private bathroom. The accommodation is basic, though the rooms do have air conditioning. (*Note: Electricity and air conditioning are provided by the ANAM rangers as long as their generator is fully functioning.)

HOW LONG ARE THE TRANSFER TIMES TO COIBA NATIONAL PARK?

Depending on weather conditions, it takes around one hour and fifteen minutes to reach Coiba.

WHAT IS THE WEATHER LIKE IN SANTA CATALINA?

You will find the weather here to be tropical and warm all year around. Our dry season is from November/December until April/May. February until April tends to be windy and dry. Rainy season is from May until October, with the most rainfall taking place typically in September and October. From May until August it usually only rains in the later afternoon and night.

CAN YOU DESCRIBE DIVING DURING THE DRY SEASON MORE IN DEPTH?

At the beginning of the dry season in December and January visibility can be best and reaches sometimes 30 or more meters (100 or more feet). Currents can be very strong this time of the year. Beginning at the end of January/middle of February until the end of March/middle of April a continuous north wind brings very dry weather but can affect the surface conditions and may restrict the access to remote dive sites in the open sea. The upwelling caused by the north wind and the influence of Pacific currents bring lots of nutrients and with it big schools of migrating pelagic fish like whale sharks, manta rays, giant pelagic sting rays, tunas, amber jacks, orca whales and more. But these conditions also bring a thermocline of 19-20 ºC (66-68 ºF) reaching depths of up to 25-30 meters (80-100 feet). While the visibility at the surface and also down in the cold water is excellent, a layer of greenish water between the two layers starts at between 5-15 meters (15-50 feet) depending on dive sites and tides and can reduce the visibility.

CAN YOU DESCRIBE DIVING DURING THE RAINY SEASON MORE IN DEPTH?

In the rainy season the wind ceases and the water calms, while the thermoclines are deeper. Until July and August the visibility can range between 12-20 meters (40-65 feet) down to recreational depth limits and the water temperature does not drop lower than 24-26 ºC (75-78 ºF) all the way down. Thunderstorms and heavy rain should be expected in the late afternoons. Humpback whales are visiting the area from July to October. September and October are the wettest months and winds can make the surface choppy. Big amounts of fresh water in the rivers can reduce the visibility especially at sites close to mainland or to big rivers at Coiba Island and lower the surface temperature to 25 ºC (76 ºF). Diving is still excellent this time of the year, but because of rain and wind it is recommended to take a multi-day trip into consideration where you can stay at the ranger station on Coiba Island and experience diving at a lot of dive sites within a 15 minutes boat ride. In this way you will avoid daily boat rides to and from Santa Catalina.

WHAT IS WATER TEMPERATURE LIKE IN COIBA NATIONAL PARK?

Water temperature is usually around 27-29 ºC (81-84 ºF). Sometimes, normally from February to April, you can expect thermoclines with cooler water reaching down to the lower 20s ºC (68 ºF). See our dive site description for more details on typical water temperatures at specific sites.

WHAT IS UNDERWATER VISIBILITY LIKE IN COIBA NATIONAL PARK?

Visibility is usually really good, between 10-15 meters (30-50 feet) in Santa Catalina and between 15-20 meters (50-70 feet) in Coiba but can be affected by currents, thermoclines and tides. Especially in Santa Catalina visibility can be reduced by water movement (swell) and rain run-off while Coiba is less effected because of its remote location. Between February and April the steady north-wind is creates upwelling, which brings cold, and sometimes murky water up, but also attracts a lot of pelagic and big fish. We cannot guarantee perfect visibility on every dive.  See our  dive site description for more details on typical visibility at specific sites.

DO WE NEED A WET SUIT FOR OUR DIVE IN COIBA NATIONAL PARK?

From February to April it is highly recommended to use a 3 to 5 mm wet suit, because of thermo climes and (sometimes stingy) plankton. The rest of the year we are recommending to use at least a thin shorty. We offer wet suits rentals if you prefer to not bring your own.

WHAT SHOULD WE EXPECT TO SEE UNDERWATER IN COIBA NATIONAL PARK?

Perhaps the more appropriate questions is What will we NOT see in Coiba National Park! In general, the time for big fish (whale sharks, mantas, big pelagics) is between December and April, when the water is cooler and rich with plankton. June to September there is a good possibility for seeing humpback whales. But there is plenty of marine life 12 months of the year.

WHAT IS THE TIDAL EXCHANGE LIKE IN COIBA NATIONAL PARK AND IN SANTA CATALINA?

Tidal exchange of 2-5 meters (6-15 feet) is present in this area of Panama and causes at some times currents at several places, which can affect the diving in Coiba as well as around Santa Catalina. Currents can be strong depending on tides, moon phases and dive sites. Some of the best dive sites are frequently swept by currents, therefore you should not accept “swimming pool” conditions on every dive.

TELL US ABOUT THE SHARKS!

If you are browsing the internet looking for information about Coiba and its marine life you will find a lot of stories about big sharks, giant sharks and schools of sharks. It is a fact that 33 species of sharks have been spotted including hammerhead, bull, tiger and whale sharks. But it is also a fact that they are not a regular or common sighting. What you will see during almost every dive are lots of whitetip reef sharks all year around, as well as big schools of snappers, jacks, grunts, barracudas, bat fish, colourful reef fish like angelfish, butterflyfish, sturgeon, trigger and parrotfish, as well as all kinds of moray eels and rare species such as frogfish and seahorses. At certain times of the year you will see big schools of small manta rays (mobulas) and other schooling rays like pelagic sting rays, eagle rays or cownose rays. There is a fair chance of seeing turtles and also giant mantas, whale sharks and big sharks from time to time at certain dive sites, but do not expect to be surrounded by hundreds of hammerheads at every dive.