10 多年的潜水柯义巴 – 10 多年的变化 – 继续


当潜水柯义巴开业 2003, 它一直是土地为基础的潜水中心提供接入柯义巴岛国家公园在巴拿马. 前, 它是非常困难的,在这里潜水. 它要么是昂贵的选择, 上一个活板或后勤的恶梦, 租房船在波多黎各Mutis提出,并携带所有设备和坦克与 3 至 4 小时一趟单程.

另一个障碍是, 柯义巴监狱仍在运行和警察不得不批准的活动. 但在 2003 它已经被决定, 将封闭在监狱 2004.

正如我落户圣卡塔利娜, 我是一个只有极少数 “外国佬” 并已带着好奇心观看, 因为没有任何人想过潜水圣卡塔利娜活动和许多当地人认为我疯了, 作为唯一的活动圣卡塔利娜被称为冲浪. 真, 没有人知道关于跳水的可能性,没有几个游客通常通过潜水计划并没有带来足够的钱, 负担得起. 信用卡已被接受站. 卡特琳娜直到 2007 只有极少数的硬核潜水员前往索纳进行一天的行程,回去拿钱出来theonly ATM内 112 公里.

不多做, 为等待潜水员, 我教我的助手路易斯潜水和认证他为开放水域潜水员. 我们一起去探索已知的钓点,并找到新的潜水点周围站. 卡塔利娜. 我们抓住每一个机会,跳上一条船去柯义巴, 探索潜水地点.

慢慢地字一个新的潜水中心站. 卡特琳娜绕到我得到了越来越多的潜水员送过来,我从我的朋友的博卡斯 - 德尔托罗,巴拿马市的外籍人士社区. 在开始的 2004 潜水之旅,成为一对夫妇每周三次的常规业务, 所以我想雇用我的第一个潜水教练,并获得更多的时间,我做其他事情. 我发现她在雷切尔富尔顿, 一个勤劳的,非常漂亮的年轻女士,我以前见过的博卡斯 - 德尔托罗. 她做了出色的工作,并形成了一支伟大的球队与Luis. 瑞秋发现了许多新的潜水地点,她是一个关键的发展潜水柯义巴人, 和我们一起住,直到早 2007.

首先柯义巴岛潜水队: 雷切尔, 路易斯, 赫比

得到了突出的检讨后,在孤独星球巴拿马结束 2004, 业务几乎翻了三倍 2005 我们开始工作,与其他自由职业者导师或潜水的主人. 自 2007 与我们合作 2 旁边自己的全职教练. 他们中的许多人住了多年, 所以我们也没有太多改变的面孔在这里. 也是我们团队的本地船船长和助手正在与我们很长一段时间和关键人员的这种一致性是一个关键组成部分,以我们的成功和安全记录.

认识我们的团队 2013

评论 & 回应

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表. 必填字段标 *

10 years of Scuba Coiba – 10 years of changes – continuing


When Scuba Coiba opened in 2003, it has been the first land based dive center offering access to Coiba National Park in Panama. Before, it was very difficult to dive here. It either was the expensive option, going on a live-a-board or the logistical nightmare, renting boats in Puerto Mutis and carrying all equipment and tanks with one on 3 to 4 hour trip one way.

Another barrier was, that the prison in Coiba was still operating and the police had to approve of the activities. But in 2003 it was already decided, that the prison will be closed in 2004.

As I settled down in Santa Catalina, I was one of only a handful “Gringos” and have been watched with curiosity, as nobody has thought about scuba diving as an activity for Santa Catalina and many locals thought I am crazy, as the only activity Santa Catalina was known for has been surfing. True, nobody knew about the possibility of diving and the few tourists passing by usually did not plan on diving and brought not enough money, to afford it. No credit cards have been accepted in Sta. Catalina till 2007 and only very few hard core divers undertook a day trip of travelling to Sona and back to get money out of theonly ATM within 112 kms.

Not much to do, as to wait for divers, I taught my assistant Luis to dive and certified him as Open Water Diver. Together we went to explore known fishing spots and to find new dive sites around Sta. Catalina. We took every chance to hop on a boat going to Coiba, to explore dive sites there.

Slowly the word of a new dive center in Sta. Catalina went around and I got more and more divers sent over to me from my friends in Bocas del Toro and the expat community of Panama City. In the beginning of 2004 dive trips were becoming a regular business a couple of times per week, so I thought of employing my first dive instructor and to get more time for me to do other things. I found her in Rachel Fulton, a hardworking and very nice young lady I met before in Bocas del Toro. She did an excellent job and formed a great team with Luis. Rachel discovered many new dive sites and she was a key person in the development of Scuba Coiba, staying with us till early 2007.

First team of Scuba Coiba: Rachel, Luis, Herbie

After getting a prominent review in Lonely Planet Panama end of 2004, business practically tripled in 2005 and we started to work with additional freelancing instructors or dive masters. Since 2007 we work with 2 full time instructors beside myself. Many of them stayed for years, so we did not have a lot of changing faces here.  Also our team of local boat captains and helpers are working with us for a long time and this consistency of key personnel is a key part to our success and safety record.

Meet the team 2013

Comments & Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *