Coiba再次开放 – 巴拿马的鲨鱼目的地 – 让我们谈谈与鲨鱼一起潜水


鲨鱼潜水1×1 –入门指南

白鳍礁鲨

每次潜水的白色秘诀

 

对许多人来说, 鲨鱼是可怕的怪物,正跳入水中, 以发现鲨鱼闻名, 听起来很疯狂. 对于潜水员而言并非如此. 每次潜水都最要看鲨鱼. 许多潜水员开始沉迷于这些完全适应且亲切的动物中游泳, 在我们的海洋巡逻 420 百万年. 不幸, 越来越少, 因为人类每年要杀死数十万人. 潜水员专程与鲨鱼潜水,鲨鱼潜水目的地可以为当地居民创造收入,并将其从杀鲨者转变为鲨鱼监护人.

柯伊巴及周边地区的水域 (奇里基湾, 蒙蒂霍湾) 拥有超过 30 鲨鱼种类和幼小锤头鲨的保育所. 可以肯定的是,与我们一起潜水时会看到鲨鱼–请问我们您可能会看到什么以及何时看到.

Scuba Coiba在自然环境中尊重鲨鱼,不会通过喂食鲨鱼来干扰其行为. 作为潜水员, you have a responsibility towards sharks and understand the basic10 Do’s and Don’ts.

了解也很重要, 鲨鱼潜水员需要具有良好的浮力能力,并且如果您想靠近并希望他们保持靠近,则必须成为“冷静潜水员”, 只是在你周围巡游. 您还应该能够在海流中缓慢而平静地移动并保持在岩石上, 如果有必要, 稳定非侵入性行为而又不将其吓跑, 把海洋变成按摩浴缸, 不断地向水中吹泡泡. 最安全的地方在底部, 鲨鱼在野外或表面捕猎. 保持冷静! 恐慌上升是拉近距离的错误方法.

我没有足够的压力去获取有关动物及其环境的尽可能多的知识. 至少可以说,至少在没有鲨鱼如何反应的基本概念的情况下进入水中. 您可能会觉得操作员的知识已足够,并且您只是跟随, 是不足够的.

所以:

  1. 受教育!

询问您可能会看到哪种鲨鱼. 知道该地区是白鳍礁鲨还是公牛鲨经常出没的地方,可能会对您在潜水时的机敏性产生很大的影响. 了解不同的鲨鱼, 你可能会遇到.

了解该地区的鲨鱼通常对潜水员的反应. 大多数自由游动的鲨鱼会在嘈杂的那一刻消失, 冒泡的潜水员前进,但有些鲨鱼更好奇. 有时候,鲨鱼喜欢漫步于潜水员并仔细观察. 被鲨鱼嗡嗡声甚至刷牙不一定意味着您将要午餐. 我们不是他们正常食物链的一部分,他们不是连环杀手!

询问是否将使用诱饵,或者潜水组中是否有任何成员计划留鱼. 在有挣扎的鱼类的情况下或水中有血液和其他汁液时,攻击行为会显着增加. 加入之前,请确保与谁同行以及他们的计划是什么.

找出该地区的鲨鱼是否属地域. 鲨鱼可能对潜水员做出反应,对领土构成威胁并进行防御性攻击.

  1. 衣着端庄

深色不太吸引人….鲨鱼

根据经验, 热带鲨鱼主要是食鱼者,因此被明亮有光泽的物体所吸引. 因此, 一件黄色的霓虹灯潜水服会吸引鲨鱼找饭的注意似乎合乎逻辑. 在鲨鱼潜水界,霓虹黄实际上已被赋予 “百胜黄”. 其他鲜艳的色彩也可能具有相同的效果,因此,如果您计划定期将自己置于热带食鱼鲨的身旁,那么最好淡化您的时尚主张并选择更柔和的颜色或黑色. 请记住,每天都有成千上万的潜水员与热带鲨鱼一起游泳,穿着从比基尼到伪装的全身潜水皮肤的各种衣服,攻击的发生率极低.

如果您在BC的外部连接了明亮的金属物体,例如渔线轮或潜水刀,请尝试将其藏在看不见的口袋中,或用深色的替代品替代它们.

全套西服比矮个子潜水服更好. 不要暴露鲨鱼可能会聚焦或误认为鱼的手和其他皮肤部位. 即使你皮肤黝黑,还是要掩盖. 鲨鱼的砂纸状皮肤刷会造成很多伤害.

最后, 鳍往往是咬人的主要目标. 这更可能与他们的动作和暴露位置有关,而不是颜色,而是白色, 银, 或应该避免使用明亮的鳍.

  1. 避免动作不稳定

鲨鱼能够适应周围环境的干扰. 他们正在寻找鱼或其他动物受伤的迹象. 一旦找到一个,他们就会履行公民职责,并将受伤的生物从基因库中移出. 在水中跳动可能会模仿受伤的鱼发出的振动和/或可能会复制喂食鲨鱼的运动. Either way, slow, 有节奏的鳍中风更有可能被忽略. 把手放在身体上 (你也可以戴手套), 用裸露的皮肤移动手指可能看起来像美味的鱼手指. 良好的浮力也很重要. 撞到礁石上或挣扎着要停留下来可能会引起兴趣,或者反过来工作并驱走您希望留在附近的鲨鱼.

  1. 看,但不要碰

被鲨鱼咬伤的最好方法是抓住它的尾巴或任何其他部位. 您不会认为这需要付诸实践,但是大量的鲨鱼叮咬是潜水员试图处理其他温顺生物的直接结果. 乔鲨潜水员看到一条懒洋洋的白鳍礁鲨的尾巴从礁石下面伸出,并认为如果给它一点戳戳或拖船,那么该懒鲨就会转移到乔可以更好看其头部的位置. 他抓住鲨鱼的尾巴,然后才有时间准确记录发生的事情, 他低头发现缠在手腕上的鲨鱼颚. 还, 礁鲨有一排排锋利的小牙齿,一旦乔终于被释放 (有时直到他被逐出水面才发生) 乔至少要用绷带扎的胳膊度过余下的假期. 不要成为乔鲨鱼潜水员. 鲨鱼非常灵活,爆炸速度快. 鲸鲨没有牙齿, 但他们有一个 5 吨重尾鳍; 你没有什么要耳光.

射线–鲨鱼的近亲 – 通常,如果您慢慢走近他们,直到他们的个人空间受到侵害,然后他们最终还是用螺栓或慢慢抬起底部并移到几米远的地方,就会保持温顺. 靠近它们的最佳方法是移至海床附近. 从上方接近时,光线会感到更有威胁.

在光线中, 潜水员需要意识到的两种防御机制是: 黄貂鱼的尾巴倒钩, 以及电击的能力.

  1. 远离密友, 鱼和类似的鱼

喂鲨鱼的鲨鱼不在那里社交. 他们想要食物,如果您介于他们和晚餐之间,那么您在错误的时间出现在错误的地方. 与任何诱饵或食物残渣保持距离,如果电流使滑溜溜远离该区域,请确保您位于侧面或上游.

观看鲨鱼的行为已有一段时间,您可能会充满信心,希望获得更好的图片或更好的外观. 请记住,如果潮流在流,而您在下游,任何游向诱饵的鲨鱼可能会认为这些美味的气味是从您身上散发出来的. 现在,您被困在鲨鱼正向您靠近的位置,而您正向其中漂流. 由于即使在微弱的水流中也很难游泳,您现在可能不得不转过头来才能逆流而上,回到上游,这使您背对即将来临的鲨鱼. 更好的行动方法是侧身游泳直到没有浮肿为止,此时您可以在不看起来像受伤动物逃跑的情况下增加电流.

. 我们不喂鲨鱼, 但您可能最终有一天会和其他人一起钓鱼和清洁鱼……所以我们要提一提.

  1. 进入水下

鲨鱼在水面漂浮会发送错误信息. 由于某些原因,您想尽快下降:

首先, 浮在水面的尸体在鲨鱼可以探索的目标对象列表中居于首位. 在海洋中, 死物漂浮.

其次, 如果您的头在水面之上,那么您实际上对水下任何鲨鱼的活动视而不见.

第三, 积极向上的潜水员的行为要有限得多. 消极情绪和摆脱困境需要时间,潜水装备中的水面游动看起来就像是一只rash头的动物。.

  1. 避免使用装饰性停留计划的潜水

如果鲨鱼太好奇了,可能会平静下来, 您总是可以直接游泳到水面并跳入船中,而无需在布鲁斯眨眨牙的时候在水面附近停留12分钟.

  1. 阅读鲨鱼

一些鲨鱼,无论食物刺激如何,都可能变得对潜水员具有攻击性. 任何姿势都是不好的迹象. 灰礁鲨的威胁显示已得到充分记录. 这包括夸张的游泳动作, 后拱, 鼻子的上升, 降低胸鳍, 和头摇摆. 并非所有的鲨鱼都会给您这些视觉提示,但大多数鲨鱼的行为都非常相似. 信息很清楚: 后退! 希望, 潜水员会注意到姿势,并在鲨鱼采取通常要攻击的下一个防御策略之前离开. 发生这种情况的最常见情况是鲨鱼转弯时. 尝试始终给鲨鱼一条逃生路线,并冷静地移出它们的空间, 慢慢地, 与新朋友保持眼神交流.

想要记录姿势姿势可能很诱人,但这已被证明是过去许多潜水员的失败原因。. 相机闪光灯或仅阳光反射在相机镜头中通常是引发最终攻击的催化剂. 即使将摄像机抬高至视线水平也足以将鲨鱼推到边缘,并且重要的是要记住,如果鲨鱼以极快的速度袭击,无论您以为准备如何,都不太可能及时阻止袭击.

请注意,某些物种属于领土, 例如, 礁鲨,但也有公牛鲨. 尊重自己的领土.

牛鲨, 紫花鱼. 可能在地域上表现. 摄影:安迪·默奇(Andy Murch),www.elasmodiver.com

  1. 成为负责任的参与者

自雅克·库斯托(Jacques Cousteau)创立初期以来,我们已经走了很长一段路. 在当今海洋中航行的鲨鱼的生存能力悬而未决. 没有任何借口伤害任何鲨鱼,甚至打扰诸如交配或分娩等重要行为. 如果您认为鲨鱼潜水的情况可能需要使用动力头或其他武器进行保护,则不应进行潜水,并且您不是负责任的鲨鱼潜水员.

保护鲨鱼和射线栖息的脆弱环境也很重要. “开枪” 无论受保护的对象是什么,保护珊瑚礁都是次要的. 始终练习良好的浮力技能,如果情况需要您蹲伏在海底上,可以找到一个不会损坏任何珊瑚或其他海洋生物的贫瘠地带. 那组橙色海绵可能会使照片位置更好,但不会以牺牲周围的珊瑚为代价.

与鲨鱼潜水可能是一项有趣而又有意义的活动,但是如果您以任何方式伤害到您看到的动物,这就会变得空洞而自私。.

  1. 报名参加鲨鱼对话专业课程, 包含 2 通过info@scubacoiba.com与我们一起潜水

这篇文章是Andy Murch的一篇文章摘要的混合 www.bigfishexpeditions.com 发表于 www.elasmodiver.com 加上一些新内容并适应了我们的地区

标签: , , , , ,

评论 & 回应

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表. 必填字段标 *

Coiba opens again – Panama’s sharky destination – let’s talk about diving with sharks


SHARK DIVING 1×1 – A BEGINNER GUIDE

white tip reef sharks

white tips on every dive

 

For many people, sharks are scary monsters and jumping into the water, known for shark sightings, might sound like a crazy thing to do. Not so for scuba divers. To see a shark is the highlight on every dive. Many divers are becoming addicted to swimming with these perfectly adapted and gracious animals, patrolling our oceans for 420 million years. Unfortunately, less and less, as humans are killing them in the Hundreds of thousands every year. Divers go on special trips to dive with sharks and shark diving destinations can generate income for the local population and change them from shark killers to shark guardians.

The waters around Coiba and the surrounding area (Gulf of Chiriqui, Gulf of Montijo) are home to more than 30 shark species and a nursery for juvenile Hammerhead sharks. Seeing sharks on your dives with us is a pretty sure bet – ask us what you might see and when.

Scuba Coiba is respecting sharks in their natural environment and will not interfere with their behavior by feeding sharks. As a diver, you have a responsibility towards sharks and understand the basic10  Do’s and Don’ts.

It is also important to understand, that a shark diver needs to have good buoyancy skills and be a “calm diver” if you want to be close and want them to stay close, just cruising around you. You also should be able to slowly and calmly move in currents and hold on to rocks, if necessary, to stabilize a non-intrusive behavior without scaring them away, converting the ocean into a jacuzzi, blowing a constant stream of air bubbles into the water. The safest place is on the bottom, sharks hunt in the open or towards the surface. Stay COOL! Panic ascends are the wrong way to get a distance.

I can’t stress enough the need to gain as much knowledge as possible about the animals and their environment. To go into the water without at least a basic idea of how the sharks are likely to react is foolhardy to say the least. You may feel that the operator’s knowledge is sufficient and that you just tag along, is not enough.

So:

  1. Get educated!

Ask what species of sharks you are likely to see. Knowing if an area is frequented by white tip reef sharks or bull sharks may make a big difference to how alert you feel you need to be on the dive. Learn about the different sharks, you might encounter.

Find out how the sharks in the area normally respond to divers. Most free-swimming sharks will disappear the minute they see a noisy, bubble-blowing diver heading their way but some sharks are more curious. Occasionally sharks like to wander up to divers and give them a closer look. Being buzzed or even brushed by a shark does not necessarily mean that you are about to become lunch. We are not a part of their normal food chain and they are no serial killers!

Ask if bait will be used or if any member of the dive group is planning to spearfish. Aggressive behavior is significantly increased in the presence of struggling fish or when blood and other juices are in the water. Make sure with whom you go and what their plan is before you join.

Find out if the sharks in the area are territorial. Sharks may respond to divers as threats to territory and defensively attack.

  1. Dress appropriately

dark colors are less attractive….to sharks

As a rule of thumb, tropical sharks are mainly fish eaters and as such are attracted to bright and shiny objects. Therefore, it would seem logical that a neon yellow wetsuit would attract the attention of sharks looking for a meal. In shark diving circles neon yellow has actually been given the nickname of “yum yum yellow”. Other bright colors may also have the same effect so if you’re planning on regularly putting yourself in the presence of tropical fish-eating sharks it may be a good idea to tone down your fashion statement and choose a more muted color or black. Bear in mind that thousands of divers swim with tropical sharks every day wearing all manner of clothing from bikinis to camouflaged full-body dive skins and the incidence of attack is extremely low.

If you have bright metal objects such as reels or dive knifes attached to the outside of your BC try to stash them out of sight in a pocket or replace them with darker colored alternatives.

Full suits are better than shorty wetsuits. Don’t expose your hands and other parts of skin that a shark can focus on or mistake for a fish. Even if you have dark skin it’s a good idea to cover up. A lot of injury can occur from the brush of a shark’s sandpaper-like skin.

Lastly, fins tend to be prime targets for bites. This has more likely to do with their movements and exposed position rather than color but white, silver, or bright fins should probably be avoided.

  1. Avoid erratic movements

Sharks are able to pick up on disturbances in their environment. They are looking for the telltale signs of a wounded fish or another animal. Once they find one they carry out their civic duty and remove the wounded creature from the gene pool. Thrashing around in the water may mimic the vibrations sent out by a wounded fish and/or may replicate the movements of a feeding shark.  Either way, slow, rhythmic fin strokes are more likely to be ignored. Keep your hands to your body (you also might use gloves), moving fingers with naked skin might look like tasty fish fingers. Good buoyancy is also important. Crashing into the reef or struggling to stay down could generate interest or may work in reverse and drive away sharks that you were hoping would stay around.

  1. Look but don’t touch

The best way to get bitten by a shark is to grab it by the tail or any other part of its anatomy. You wouldn’t think this needs putting into print but a surprising amount of shark bites are the direct result of divers trying to manhandle otherwise docile creatures. Joe shark diver sees a lazy white tip reef shark’s tail protruding from under the reef and thinks that if he gives it a little poke or tug the lazy shark will shift into a position where Joe can get a better look at its head. He grabs the shark’s tail and before he has time to register exactly what has happened, he looks down to find a shark jaw wrapped around his wrist. Also, reef sharks have rows of sharp little teeth and once Joe is finally released (which sometimes doesn’t happen until he is literally dragged out of the water) Joe gets to spend the rest of his holiday at the very least with a bandaged arm. Don’t be Joe Shark Diver. Sharks are extremely flexible and explosively fast. Whale Sharks have no teeth, but they have a 5 tons heavy tail fin; you don’t what to get slapped with it.

Rays – the shark’s close cousins – usually remain very docile if you approach them slowly until their personal space is encroached upon and then they finally either bolt or slowly lift off the bottom and relocate a few meters away. The best way to get near them is to move in close to the sea bed. Rays feel more threatened when approached from above.

In rays, the two defense mechanisms that a diver needs to be aware of are: the stingray’s tail barb, and the electric rays’ ability to shock.

  1. Stay away from the chum, speared fish and similar

Sharks that come to a shark feed are not there to socialize. They want food and if you’re between them and dinner you’re in the wrong place at the wrong time. Keep your distance from any bait or food scraps and if the current is moving a chum slick away from the area make sure that you are positioned off to the side or up-stream.

Having watched the shark’s behavior for some time you may feel confident about moving in for better pictures or a better look. Remember that if the current is running and you are down-stream any sharks that are swimming up to the bait may think that those delicious odors are emanating from you. Now you’re stuck in a position where a shark is coming toward you and you are drifting into it. As it’s very hard to swim against even a mild current you probably now have to turn around to make headway against it to get back up-stream which puts you with your back to the approaching shark. A better course of action is to swim sideways until clear of the chum slick at which point you can kick up current without looking like a fleeing wounded animal.

. We are not feeding sharks, but you might end up one day on a boat with other people fishing and cleaning the fish……so we wanted to mention it.

  1. Get underwater

Floating at the surface in the presence of sharks sends the wrong message. You want to descend as soon as you can for a few reasons:

Firstly, a body floating at the surface is high on the list of desirable objects for a shark to explore. In the ocean, dead things float.

Secondly, if your head is above water you are effectively blind to the movements of any sharks underwater.

Thirdly, a positively buoyant diver’s actions are far more limited. It takes time to become negative and descend out of trouble and swimming at the surface in dive gear looks an awful lot like a thrashing animal.

  1. Avoid dives planned with deco stops

If a shark is getting too curious it might be a calming thought, that you always can swim up directly to the surface and hop into the boat without making a necessary 12-minute deco stop close to the surface with Bruce blinking his teeth beneath you.

  1. Read the sharks

Some sharks regardless of food stimulus may become aggressive towards divers. Any type of posturing is a bad sign. The threat display of Grey reef sharks has been well documented. This consists of exaggerated swimming motions, back-arching, raising of the snout, lowering of the pectoral fins, and head swinging. Not all sharks will give you these visual cues but most have pretty similar behavior. The message is a clear one: BACK OFF! Hopefully, the diver will notice the posturing and move away before the shark takes its next defensive strategy which is often to attack. The most common scenario in which this situation occurs is when a shark is cornered. Try to always give sharks an escape route and move out of their space – calmly, slowly, keeping eye contact with your new acquaintance.

It may be tempting to want to photograph posturing behavior but this has proven to be the downfall of numerous divers in the past. A camera flash or only sunlight reflecting in your camera lens is often the catalyst that brings on the final attack. Even bringing a camera up to eye level may be enough to push a shark over the edge and it’s important to remember that no matter how ready you think you are if a shark attacks at speed you are unlikely to be able to block the attack in time.

Be aware that some species are territorial, for example, reef sharks but also bull sharks. Respect their territory.

Bull Shark, Carcharhinus leucas. Might behave territorially. Photo by Andy Murch www.elasmodiver.com

  1. Be a responsible participant

We have come a long way since the early days of Jacques Cousteau pitting himself against the monsters of the sea. The survival of the sharks that cruise today’s oceans hangs in the balance. There is no excuse for harming any shark or even interrupting important behaviors such as mating or birthing. If you feel that a shark diving situation may require the use of a powerhead or other weapon for protection then the dive should not take place and you are not a responsible shark diver.

It is also important to protect the fragile environment that sharks and rays inhabit. “Getting the shot” is secondary to protecting the reef regardless of what the subject is. Always practice good buoyancy skills and if the situation calls for you to crouch inconspicuously on the seafloor find a barren spot that will not damage any corals or other marine creatures. That group of orange sponges may make for a better photo location but not at the expense of the surrounding corals.

Diving with sharks can be a fun and highly rewarding activity but this becomes hollow and selfish enjoyment if you in any way harm the animals you came to see.

  1. Sign up for a Shark Conversation Specialty course, including 2 dives with us at info@scubacoiba.com

This post is a mixture of a summarize of a post by Andy Murch of www.bigfishexpeditions.com posted on www.elasmodiver.com with some additions and adapted to our area

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments & Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *